Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is comprised of representatives from each of the consortium member organizations, and co-chaired by representatives from University of Toronto and Western University.

When collaborative research proposals are submitted to SOSCIP, the SAC is responsible for reviewing, evaluating and approving proposals, as well as determining and approving the allocation of SOSCIP resources. After research projects are approved, the SAC regularly checks in and reviews projects progress.

SAC members are listed below.


Michael Bauer, Western University, SHARCNET
Professor, Department of Computer Science
Co-Chair, SOSCIP Scientific Advisory Committee
SOSCIP Technology Lead, Cloud and Agile High Performance Computing Platforms


Christopher Yip, University of Toronto
Professor, Department of Biochemistry
Co-Chair, SOSCIP Scientific Advisory Committee


Carlisle Adams, University of Ottawa
Professor, School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science


Vacant, Ryerson University


Vida Movahedi, Seneca College
School of Information and Communication Technology (ICT), Faculty of Applied Science and Engineering Technology


Mark Daley, Western University
Associate Professor, Departments of Computer Science, Biology, and Statistics and Actuarial Science
Associate Vice-President, (Research)


Vacant, Carleton University


Vic DiCiccio, University of Waterloo
Research Professor, David R. Cheriton School of Computer Science


Hendrick de Haan, University of Ontario Institute of Technology
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Science


Farhana Zulkernine, Queen’s University
Assistant Professor, School of Computing


Sowmya Somanath, OCAD University
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Design


Ue-Li Pen, University of Toronto
Professor and Director, Canadian Institute for Theoretical Astrophysics


Tom Doyle, McMaster University
Professor, Faculty of Engineering


Vacant, University of Guelph


Ian Hamilton, Wilfrid Laurier University
Professor, Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry


Ziad Kobti, University of Windsor
Professor and Director, School of Computer Science


Sean Wagner, IBM Canada Limited
Research Scientist, IBM Canada Research and Development Centre
Acting SAC Member


David Tweddell, Western University
Director, Research Development


Paul Gulyas, IBM Canada Ltd.
Innovation & Business Development


Michael Haslam, York University
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics & Statistics